Ballymena United 2-0 Carrick Rangers
Carrick Rangers fell to a 2-0 defeat to Ballymena United in their first ever League Cup Final at Seaview on Saturday afternoon, as Conor McCloskey came back to haunt his former side by sealing the win in stoppage time.

The opening exchanges were quiet enough, and the first opportunity fell to the Sky Blues as Leroy Millar’s cross was met by the head of Allan Jenkins, but his effort was directed over Brian Neeson’s bar.


Soon after, a scramble in the box saw the ball fall kindly to TJ Murray who had space and time from 10 yards out, but the on-loan midfielder squandered his chance as he fired high into the stand.


Back at the other end, Jonathan McMurray tried his luck as he hit a half-volley from 30 yards out, and Neeson had to be alert to tip the striker’s shot over the bar.


McMurray seemed to be his side’s focal point as a lobbed through ball from Tony Kane found the ex-Cliftonville forward, but he released his shot too early, seeing it go well wide of the mark.


As the game reached the stroke of half-time, the Warden Street outfit took the lead. Willie Faulkner controlled the ball before jinking past three ‘Gers players, and pulled it back for the renowned late run of Jenkins, who showed his experience to coolly hammer the ball into the corner of the net, and give United a 1-0 advantage at the break.


Ballymena continued their dominance in the second half as Cathair Friel skinned Steven McCullough before finding strike-partner McMurray in the box, but the latter’s side-footed shot was off the mark.


With an hour played, Rangers looked to bring themselves more into the game as Adam Salley replaced Mark Clarke.


Set-piece specialist Kane then had a perfect goal-scoring opportunity from a free-kick following a foul on Fra McCafferty by Lee Chapman. Kane pinpointed his effort towards the top corner, only to be denied by a superb diving save from Neeson to tip the ball over the bar.


From the resulting corner, Kane sent in an inviting delivery which eventually fell for goal-scorer Jenkins only yards out, but he couldn’t repeat his heroics as he blazed over, much to the relief of the Carrick faithful.


As the game entered its final 10 minutes, Nathan McConnell entered the game in place of Eamon McAllister.


Only a minute later, a golden opportunity fell begging for the Carrickfergus side. McCullough’s cross found Paddy McNally who headed the ball downwards, and it bounced perfectly for Salley whose lobbed header beat Ross Glendenning, but landed the wrong side of the bar.


With 5 minutes to go, Chris Morrow replaced Martin Murray as Carrick piled on the pressure.


TJ Murray picked up Sean Noble’s pass in the middle of the park and charged forward, seeing off Kane before exchanging passes with Morrow. As he raced into the penalty area he was bundled off the ball by McCloskey, and referee Ian McNabb was happy to wave play on – a decision that was met with fury from the ‘Gers fans, players and management.


Rangers had one last chance in the closing minutes, as McCullough’s free-kick from the left found the lurking McConnell whose well placed shot drew a smart save from Glendenning to push the ball past the post.


One minute into injury time, Ballymena wrapped up their first ever league cup victory. TJ Murray lost possession in the centre-circle and the ball was eventually switched out to McCloskey, who had space and time to set himself before unleashing a thunderbolt of a strike into the top corner, confirming the full-time result and a disappointing ending to the Gers’ cup run, despite an incredible effort from the squad and management.


Carrick Rangers: Neeson, Chapman, Surgenor, McNally, McCullough, TJ Murray, Clarke (Salley, 60), M Murray (Morrow, 84), McAllister (McConnell, 80), Noble, Kelly.


Unused substitutes: Imbert, Taggart.

updated: 21 February 2017
Carrick Rangers
The Oval, Belfast
Danske Bank Premiership
Saturday 21 April 2018, kick off: 3:00pm
17/04/2018v Ballinamallard United(A)DBP--more
14/04/2018v Ards(H)DBPL0-1more
07/04/2018v Dungannon Swifts(A)DBPL0-2more
23/03/2018v Coleraine(A)DBPL2-3more
17/03/2018v Cliftonville(H)DBPL0-1more

 Crusaders 36 27 6 3 103 3687
 Coleraine 36 26 9 1 74 2987
 Glenavon 36 19 10 7 85 5267
 Linfield 36 20 6 10 69 4266
 Cliftonville 36 19 4 13 65 4361
 Glentoran 35 13 9 13 46 4548
 Ballymena United 36 14 5 17 52 6347
 Dungannon Swifts 35 11 6 18 32 5339
 Ards 36 12 3 21 38 6939
 Warrenpoint Town 36 8 6 22 48 7930
 Carrick Rangers 35 4 5 26 25 7317
 Ballinamallard United 35 3 7 25 33 8616