Carrick Rangers 0-0 Glenavon
A valuable point was earned on Saturday afternoon, as for the second time this season a scoreless draw was played out between Carrick Rangers and Glenavon at the Loughshore Hotel Arena.


With only a minute on the clock the Lurgan side registered the opening opportunity as Mark Sykes ran onto Guy Bates’ layoff but his shot from the edge-of-the-box was straight at home ‘keeper Brian Neeson.


Moments later Bates was involved in the action again, as he was picked out by Joel Cooper’s low cross. His initial shot was blocked heroically by a combination of Paddy McNally and Steven McCullough, before Neeson was out quickly to smother the follow-up.


Things then settled down until the 36th minute when Greg Moorhouse dispossessed Seanna Foster in the box, but the young forward couldn’t direct his effort past Neeson from a tight angle.


The 6th-placed side kept up their dominance as Rhys Marshall found James Singleton on the right-hand edge of the box, and his first time effort sailed just over the upright.


Two minutes before half-time, the ‘Gers had their first clear-cut chance of the half, and the best one of either side at that. TJ Murray slipped debutant Tommy Elder through one-on-one, but he wasn’t able to open the scoring as he hit the ball straight at Jonny Tuffey.


Three minutes after the second half started, Aaron Smyth replaced Seanna Foster, with the latter hobbling off with an injury.


Rangers had another great chance as McCullough’s 25-yard free-kick looked destined for the top corner, but Tuffey pulled out a wonderful diving save to tip the ball onto the crossbar and out of play.


With an hour played, Tzee Mustapha replaced Tommy Elder as Aaron Callaghan’s men went in search of a goal.


Cooper continued his solid wing-play as he skipped past Smyth before rolling the ball along the face of goal for Moorhouse but he failed to connect with only Neeson to beat.


10 minutes from full time, Adam Salley came on for Nathan McConnell as both sides went in search for that elusive goal, but it wasn’t to be as the spoils were shared at Taylors Avenue.


Carrick Rangers: Neeson, Foster (Smyth, 48), McNally, McVey, McCullough, Noble, Taggart, Clarke, TJ Murray, Elder (Mustapha, 68), McConnell (Salley, 82).


Unused substitutes: M Murray, Morrow.

updated: 26 February 2017

09/05/2018v Newry City(H)POL1-3more
04/05/2018v Newry City(A)POL2-3more
28/04/2018v Warrenpoint Town(A)DBPW3-2more
21/04/2018v Glentoran(A)DBPW2-1more
17/04/2018v Ballinamallard United(A)DBPL1-2more

 Crusaders 38 28 7 3 106 3891
 Coleraine 38 26 11 1 76 3189
 Glenavon 38 19 12 7 85 5269
 Linfield 38 20 7 11 72 4667
 Cliftonville 38 20 5 13 68 4565
 Glentoran 38 14 9 15 52 5251
 Ballymena United 38 14 6 18 53 6548
 Dungannon Swifts 38 13 6 19 42 6245
 Ards 38 12 4 22 42 7440
 Warrenpoint Town 38 8 6 24 52 8630
 Carrick Rangers 38 6 5 27 31 7823
 Ballinamallard United 38 5 8 25 39 8923